A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

The Music He Knows

He was standing on the middle of the road
In the morning rush hour traffic
Pushing sixty maybe seventy
A worn out hat lopsided on his crown
A shirt and trouser, unkempt

A mouth organ clutched lovingly in his hand,
His most prized possession perhaps
He brought it to his lips to call out to the street
In universal language, please help me live

As he played along, the music he knows
He paused to smile, look around pleadingly
At the indifferent folks in their comfortable zones
Hoping for something to get by

I gave him a hundred and he looked at me
A genuinely kind smile
He stood up unyielding,
The light of hope in his eyes, clearing away
The despair inside
He raised his hand, a salute so strong,
That no words could have said what he meant

The light changed to green, and as I moved on
I knew that more than the hundred I gave
I gave him hope to hang on

Creative Commons License
The Music He Knows is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.

One response

  1. stfallen

    ahhgood stuffI could picture the last bit in my head

    August 3, 2008 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

