A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

I Found Peace and Hope…

I took it in, the heat engulfing my throat. I inhaled, slowly allowing the smoke to envelope my lungs. On the balcony of a 9th floor hotel suite in Maldives, everything became hazy. My eyes stung a bit, but I took another puff, and felt that engulfing feeling again. I looked at my love of the moment, the little joint in my hand, rolled up with unpretentious care. I never felt so alive at 4.00am after a lack of sleep from the previous night. It was as if somebody had pressed the pause button on the world.

In the distance I saw something dark. It was the sea. I looked down at the small city below me. Is that why I feel so big now? Lights flickered in the distance. The moon hid in the clouds as if embarrassed to bear it’s majesty on the little people below her, shamelessly smoking up.

I felt the rush of air in my hair. I was seated staring out into space. Others were talking, what I don’t know. I felt the breeze gently caressing the back of my ears. In this strange place I felt at home. The filter in the joint not only purified the smoke, it also held back my insecurities. With the joint in hand I felt safe from myself.

I succumbed to the pleasure
To the carefree feeling coming over me
I looked around at the world now a hazy place
Through my marred vision everything seemed clear

I took a leap of faith to defy gravity
I touched the moon, had a conversation with the rabbit
Reached out for the little lights boasting their glory
Illuminating a beauty of translucence within

I felt the wind grasp my wings
I let myself soar in a transient zephyr
The soft clouds embraced my pain and took it away
As little drops of rain tickled my skin cleansing my soul

A feeling of peace so new to me
I lay shocked in bliss, bewildered by the simplicity
If only this would last forever
If only you were here with me

Creative Commons License
I Found Peace and Hope… is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License

5 responses

  1. realskullzero

    hmmm…awesomely put down bro….now thats a good puff..lol..:D

    October 22, 2008 at 3:47 am

  2. FRGT10

    thanks man.. it was awesome..btw shouldnt u be working right about now??

    October 22, 2008 at 4:47 am

  3. Queen of the Dark Asylum

    smoking up. in maldives. INTERESTING.

    October 22, 2008 at 6:24 am

  4. TheWhacksteR

    hey thats funny, la tim i went to the moon it was empty 🙂 nicely put..Im with RSZ. Indeed a good puff!

    October 22, 2008 at 6:37 am

  5. stfallen

    hmm (:

    October 22, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

