A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

Relapse

The last time I held you with so much passion was when you were saying goodbye. The tears in my eyes and the words I mumbled did not do justice to how I was feeling inside. To you it was two friends parting ways; to me it was something which transcended that.

Years go by, the feelings subside and people change. I find myself on a new path. I have let go of my feelings and I’m walking on my own. But you entered my world once again in an abundance of colour and made me remember everything. All the feelings I kept bottled up inside. Your eyes still have the power to mesmerize me, and your smile makes me want to do things to always keep you happy, just so I can revel in its beauty. Your touch and your evocative embrace, still has the power to make the world stop in time, and keep everything moving in slow motion.

It’s amazing how some things remain constant in this world of transition. It’s amazing how even though you consciously give up on something, subliminally you are still pining for that touch you never felt and the words you never heard. Time has changed a lot of things but it hasn’t changed that special place you have in my heart. It hasn’t changed the longing and the thoughts of wondering what it would feel like to kiss you goodnight. It hasn’t changed the way in which I wonder whether we could have been something more, with the very little we had. I find myself in square one again, happily lost this time. Time has changed a lot, but in my little world of you and me, it hasn’t changed much. In that way, time can be a little cruel on us. It has changed our lives but it hasn’t changed the way I feel for you, and that feeling where I know that whatever may come our way all I can give you is that special place and a helping hand. Nothing more and nothing less.

5 responses

  1. Hallelujah!!!
    Bro…. thank you, all i need to do is copy, paste, send it to someone i know….

    Beautifully written!

    December 27, 2008 at 7:21 pm

  2. Wow.. just beautiful!

    December 27, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    • Makuluwo – thanks 🙂

      MP – haha go ahead bro.. thanks

      December 28, 2008 at 11:13 am

  3. thebohemiangypsy

    amazing

    December 29, 2008 at 9:35 am

  4. wow. Love how you capture feelings and translte them in to words. “consiously give up but subliminally pine”… that line punched me in the gut. sigh.

    January 9, 2009 at 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

