A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

In the Candlelight Darkness

Our little room was dark and we sat blindly, in silence. Looking at the nothingness the light left behind. I could hear you breathing. The only sign to show me you are in the room with me. Similarly, my deep breaths were the only way I indicated to you that I’m still there. Was the thought comforting? Or did you want to stay in the room alone? Time passed on, while the darkness lingered around. Time passed by some more, and then you spoke. Your voice was barely a whisper. You were tired of the darkness. You wanted to see the light again. And in this room, I always carry the candle.

I sat in silence. I was getting used to the darkness. My mind felt empty for once. But I gave in. I lit the candle. We were bathed in the soft glow, glimmering, illuminating our little world. Shadows were cast and every movement we made, made the walls come alive. I smiled at you. You smiled back. We were enjoying the light. There was a feeling of new found splendor in the room. It was like a secret that we shared. I looked around at the shadows. They were waiting to mimic me.

I saw you looking at the candle, and its flame. The dancing flame in your eyes did not illuminate the back of your mind. You left me wondering what you were thinking. You got up and walked up to me and held my hand. For a long time we stood there, just looking at each other. Then you looked at the candle once more. What were you thinking? I did not want to ask. You let go of my hand and looked away. I was waiting for you to turn back to me, but you were looking at the shadows now. I looked away; I did not want to see the shadows again. You turned back to me and gave a weak smile. It was nothing like the smile you gave me before. In the back of my head, I felt a slight tinge of suspicion creep in. I watched as you looked at the candle again.

It was as if the light was confusing you. Did it make you see things you did not want to see? Were you dissatisfied with what the light showed of me? Would you rather indulge in the blind oblivion that the darkness presented? Everything was alright a moment ago. Is the light playing tricks on your eyes? An abundance of thoughts ran through my head as I watched you in silence. Your eyes had a shadow, I have never seen before. When you looked at me, it felt like you were looking right through me as if you didn’t see me. Then you leant forward and blew the candle, bathing us in the darkness again.

You stood up and walked away from me, walking confidently as if you could see clearly in the dark. I watched your figure move away from me. You opened the door and stepped out of the room, leaving me in the darkness. You did not even look back nor say a word. You just left me with a mystery, alone in the darkness and closed the door behind you.

If you never wanted the light why did you tell me to light the candle?

11 responses

  1. wow! so much like something I would’ve written…:)
    what matters is you (as in what’s written) lit the candle when you were asked to…. and you did it with so much of hope and feelings..
    the intentions are what really matters..:) Perhaps someone will come with a candle lit so bright..that you will never see the darkness again..:)

    January 26, 2009 at 10:17 am

  2. tash

    i agree with LD whole heartedly.. 🙂

    January 26, 2009 at 10:27 am

  3. delilahsays

    Somethings are better left in the dark. What you see in the light is difficult to deal with when you have believed otherwise, while in the darkness.

    January 26, 2009 at 10:39 am

  4. Dee

    nice

    January 26, 2009 at 11:17 am

  5. Woah man. You keep one-upping your previous writings everytime, it’s insane! 😛
    I am just crazy IN LOVE with the symbolic metaphors in this piece of work. 🙂

    January 26, 2009 at 4:05 pm

  6. sabbyaz

    LD said it.
    Couldn’t have penned (or tapped in this case) it all better myself. Can relate to the whole story very well, sadly.

    January 26, 2009 at 4:27 pm

  7. As usual, really really beautiful. This time, though, I feel like I’m on the side of the person who wanted the candle lit only to blow it out and walk away. You have a knack of snagging onto my feelings and running away with them. Fantastic.

    January 27, 2009 at 7:45 am

  8. duude. i just read this. i have no words. 😀

    January 27, 2009 at 11:05 am

  9. blackexists

    wow – love the scene you’ve created here. picturing it in my minds eye – and it’s beautiful.

    January 27, 2009 at 1:40 pm

  10. Mayanthi

    Picturesquely penned down. The elusiveness of darkness engulfs you so much at times that you don’t want to discover what lies beyond, in the light. You’d rather hang on to a sliver of hope and the unknown.

    January 28, 2009 at 1:57 pm

  11. I wanted to comment on this a lot time ago. But was at work and you know the drill neh.

    I must say Unsilent, you have a way of making everything you come up with sounds beautiful, down to the tiny detail. I am in absolute awe, you’ve got a fan and a friend in me pal.

    HUGE HUGS

    March 2, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Leave a Reply

