A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

Exit Wound

I’ll keep my silence and watch you draw your borders
To limit my freedom and keep me within
I’ll watch and wait while you explain your rules
And the reason behind this game we are playing
I’ll sip your medicine and pretend I like the taste
And accept defeat openly to your face
So that you can breathe your sighs of relief
Thinking that you finally brainwashed me
I’ll do what you say and keep myself inside
And lock me up from the world outside
I’ll dance to your tune; I promise not to pull the strings
Those that hold me up and make me do these things
I’ll limit myself to the empty space inside my head
I’ll stop living the life I love and learn to play dead
As you poison my mind with your sincere words
I’ll pretend that I can’t see right through your curse
I’ll smile sincerely while you try to change me
I’ll try to be everything that you want me to be
But there will be a price to pay one day you’ll see
The more you take control the more you lose me
I hope these screams of antipathy resonate in your dreams
Because the dream you have for me, is a nightmare I’m trapped in
Because at the end of the day you are on the highest rung
As you pull me up with you, my dreams will remain unsung
You can mandate my silence and deny my right to grow
I promise not to strike back but I want you to know
You may think you won the battle, but I’m prepared for the war
Because no matter what you do you can never change my soul

6 responses

  1. Perseverance love, perseverance. That is what gets me through the day. My mantra in my head – “change me if you will, you will never break my stride”.

    They will try, do what they can to break the integrity that’s left in us, but we can dream and because we dream, we are prosperous, for people who strive to break apart others, are people who don’t have much.

    HUWAH!

    May 3, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  2. Hmm… Long, could’ve split it up a bit? Could do with a few touch ups here and there just to steady the flow. But overall pretty solid, though I only managed to finish it on my third attempt at reading (:

    May 4, 2009 at 8:58 am

  3. well written, but got to agree with st.fallen. it could have been split.

    May 4, 2009 at 1:46 pm

  4. Hish

    dont conform to the system man.. challenge it!

    May 4, 2009 at 2:36 pm

  5. A ticking time bomb. Lovely.

    May 4, 2009 at 4:12 pm

  6. I’m frequently looking for new posts in the net about this subject. Thankz.

    December 10, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Leave a Reply

