A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

In Between

They can’t bring me back to life. It won’t matter how much they try, they will never succeed. I refuse to go back. I refuse to welcome the world once again. I hear their cries tainted with sorrow, I see their unhindered pain. I feel their tears fall against my body, stinging me with their agony. Sympathy and cold guilt settles in slowly, but that’s not enough to change my mind. Nothing is, now. This numbness I feel is something I craved for so long. I suffered too long, obliviously. My memories plague my brain but I know how to cherish them. And I will do forever. After all, that is all I have to show who I really am. Everything I wanted to be, everything I wanted to do, everything they wanted to see in me was gone. What was, becomes history, what would have been, becomes a mystery. What is, is nothing. It’s over now. It’s time to move on. I feel the numbness overpowering me, caressing my weakness into awakening. I feel myself going blind and the world stops turning. A calm surrender washes over me and I feel released, detached from an anonymous burden. I turn my back to the world, to the life I lived and the love I shared. I turn my back to the world and let the unknown consume me.

 

For death begins with life’s first breath And life begins at touch of death

Leave a Reply

