A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

In The Valley Of A Thousand Dreams

Darkness descends
In the valley of a thousand dreams
A thousand sunsets
Ash blows in the wind
Where are you?
For who I yearn
As I tread this path
Alone.

The body pleads for rest
The head prays for closure
But a light in the distance
Calls out to me
I follow the darkness
As it leads me in
Knee deep into the river of clarity
I bathe in the calm surrender
Of emptiness.

I can never cleanse my soul
For it lurks too deep in the shadows
But the light in the distance
Keeps me going
I follow the darkness
Though it wears me thin
As it pulls me in
Closer I see
In the distance
My mountain awaits…

Mountain of Wisdom by `YagaK

14 responses

  1. I love it… but would it be weird to say that I recall Miley Cyrus’s “The climb” at the end. Maybe it’s cos of the mountain, maybe it’s because I just watched Miley Cyrus in a movie. Good god, that’s a lot of Miley Cyrus references, innit? 😛
    I’ll stop now.

    Love it, man. Keep going, I love the constant flow. ❤

    September 5, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    • C.

      MILEY CYRUS??? Cheeeh!! go listen to something useful 😛 Thanks anyway..

      September 6, 2010 at 4:33 am

      • Sabby

        HAHAHAHA
        Miley Cyrus 😀

        September 9, 2010 at 2:22 pm

  2. divine…..journey and destination together…

    a small candle light also travels at 300000 k.m.
    per second….one ray is enough to cross darkness…

    love all..

    September 5, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  3. Great picture of the mountain..creepy yet beautiful x

    September 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

  4. love your mountain image,
    super amazing post.

    September 6, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  5. This is a very beautiful poem. So many images…….”knee deep into the river of clarity” – wow. “the calm surrender of emptiness.” I love the light in the distance that keeps you going…….wonderful poem, I look forward to more. So glad you found Poets United:)

    September 6, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  6. C.

    @Katherine & Jingle – Thank you very much 🙂

    @Sherry – Thank you for visiting and the lovely comment. Glad you like it.. Hope you visit again 🙂

    September 6, 2010 at 4:42 pm

  7. signed .............bkm

    nice write – welcome to Poets United…bkm

    September 6, 2010 at 5:57 pm

  8. “All day I think about it, then at night I say it. Where did I come from, and what am I supposed to be doing? I have no idea. My soul is from elsewhere, I’m sure of that, and I intend to end up there. Who looks out with my eyes? What is the soul? I cannot stop asking. If I could taste one sip of an answer, I could break out of this prison for drunks. I didn’t come here of my own accord, and I can’t leave that way. Whoever brought me here, will have to take me home.”
    – Jalal Ad-Din Rumi, “The Tavern,” Ch. 1:, p. 2, from “The Essential Rumi”

    This is the first thing came into my mind while reading your amazing poem…

    September 7, 2010 at 12:35 am

  9. missing you in our group poetry activity,
    welcome to Rally week 28.
    Happy Thursday!
    🙂

    let me know when you are ready.

    September 9, 2010 at 1:20 am

  10. Yes that struggle that yearning deep in our souls that pushes us to climb the summit of our lives. Truly a beautiful poem.

    Welcome to poets united.

    Joanny

    September 9, 2010 at 2:59 am

  11. http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-natures-elements-air.html
    Greetings!
    I sincerely invite you to join us for a Monday Poetry Potluck party, bring in 1 to 3 poem treats to share via the link on the top! You could use an old poem.

    October 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

