A new divide I created within, to make sense of the infinite futility that lies inside…

A Bittersweet Lullaby

Immersed in my bittersweet lullaby
I lie awake, dead of night dreams
intercoursing my thoughts
To find myself I had to get lost
Underneath a prodigious moon
The waves glisten with deep secrets
Crashing into shadows as foam
Overlaps the truth

I’m hidden beneath the sand
With the footprints washed away
I lie asleep but I am awake
dead of night dreams haunting me
Taking me further
There’s no war this silence can end

I’m lost again
on the road back to who i am
Embracing me reminding me
What is here is only a figment
Of what never really was

Underneath a prodigious moon
To find myself I had to get lost
Dead of night dreams
Intercoursing my thoughts,
I lie awake
Immersed in my bittersweet lullaby

9 responses

  1. enjoy that moon song, aren’t you…
    magical imagery for this piece.
    Thanks for sharing!

    October 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  2. prodigious moon – great image

    Enjoyed this, dude

    Luke @ WordSalad

    (mine are here –
    To Ashes: http://wp.me/pTeVg-ca
    Let Me: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bW
    Indigenous: http://wp.me/pTeVg-bK

    October 26, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    • C.

      thank u 🙂

      October 30, 2010 at 5:42 am

  3. Jingle Poetry Monday Potluck is open Now,
    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-halloween.html

    Welcome Linking in any poem, join the fun today!

    November 2, 2010 at 12:16 am

  4. Jingle

    Glad to Land at your fantastic poetry land today,
    How are you?

    Love your poetry talent, Please join us at Jingle Poetry Monday potluck tonight,
    First time participants can link in 1 to 3 old poems, poems unrelated to our theme are welcome!

    Happy Monday/Tuesday!
    Hope to see you in.
    xxx

    December 7, 2010 at 12:52 am

  5. I really like this poem. Sad but with some hope. Excellent write!

    January 17, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  6. Well done.

    May 1, 2011 at 6:52 am

  7. How are you?
    Please consider making a contribution to poets rally week 43 today,
    A free verse is appreciated, you rock!
    Happy Thursday!
    Hope to see you in.
    xoxox

    Happy Birthday, you cool.

    May 5, 2011 at 6:29 pm

  8. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    may your day be very blessed!

    Love,

    Luna

    May 6, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

